top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Tristan

The Names of God

Updated: Sep 29, 2018

As part of my daily meditation on the Lord's Prayer, I recalled a sermon I had heard about the names of God in the Bible. I found a list at bible.org/article/names-god. Drawing from their list, I categorized them to make them easier to memorize.

As I meditate on them, I'll continue to add notes here about what these names tell us about the God of Israel.

Nature

5- Yahweh “I am”

6- El Olam “The Everlasting God” Unchanging

7- Yahweh Tsidkenu “The Lord our Righteousness”

8- Yahweh Elohim Israel “The Lord, the God of Israel”

Power

1- Elohim, “The Strong One” Creation

"For every house is built by someone, but the builder of all things is God." Hebrews 3:4

2- El Shaddai “God Almighty” Protection

3- Yahweh Nissi “The Lord is my Banner”

4- Yahweh Sabbaoth “The Lord of Hosts”


Love

9- Yahweh Ro’I “The Lord my Shepherd”

10- Yahweh Jireh “The Lord will provide”

11- Yahweh Shalom “The Lord Is Peace”

12- Yahweh Maccaddeshcem “The Lord your Sanctifier”

13- Yahweh Shammah “The Lord is there”

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Book of Job- Book of Suffering

If God is real, why does he let little children die of AIDS? Why does he wipe out thousands of people with earth quakes and hurricanes? Why did he let my friends kill themselves? Why doesn’t he wipe o

bottom of page